The term gunner described a number of different roles within military and civilian vehicles of all types, classes, and models throughout the galaxy. Typically stationed in a vehicle operated by multiple crewmembers, gunners controlled weapons that usually operated independently of the vehicle's driver or pilot or, in the case of larger starships, the rest of the crew.
**This card has been corrected in the Errata / FAQ **
Corrected Card Text/Abilities Edit
Original Card Text/Abilities Edit
After you perform an attack that does not hit, immediately perform a primary weapon attack. You cannot perform another attack this round.
- Using Gunner’s ability is a separate attack, which means that the ship can choose to declare a different target for the second attack, and any abilities to modify attack dice (such as spending a focus token or a target lock) must be used for each attack separately.
- When using a secondary weapon that says “perform this attack twice”, both attacks must miss for Gunner to activate. (X-Wing FAQ, Version 4.2.1, Updated 07/01/2016)
- If an attacking ship is equipped with both Gunner and IG-88D and there is a friendly IG-88B, and the attack misses, the attacking ship can then attack with a Cannon secondary weapon using the effect of IG-88B and then attack with the primary weapon using the effect of Gunner. (X-Wing FAQ, Version 4.4.0, Updated 10/27/2017)