Card Text/Abilities Edit
- Bossk triggers each time you perform an attack that does not hit. If you are not stressed, you receive a stress token. If you are already stressed, you do not receive an additional stress token. Then, whether or not a stress token is receieved, assign 1 focus token to your ship and acquire a target lock on the defender. (X-Wing FAQ, Version 3.2, Updated 09/04/2015)
To understand this FAQ clarification, imagine Bossk reads like this:
- After you perform an attack that does not hit:
- If you are not stressed, you must receive 1 stress token.
- Assign 1 focus token to your ship, and acquire a target lock on the defender.
FFG has never released a style or interpretation guide for their cards, but it appears they treat the first clause of the first sentence (before the comma) as the card's trigger. Each statement following that trigger happens even if one part does not apply (e.g. you are not stressed, but you still get a focus and lock).
Similar wording is used in Targeting Synchronizer, but it currently lacks a FAQ to confirm that this is a general rule, not a special case. Further, Accuracy Corrector has similar wording and should not be interpreted the same way (rather, you only get the 2 free hits if you cancel your results).
Unique Name Edit
Bossk (YV-666 Pilot)